When my dad said ,”Choose yr laptop son”

Introduction

The day I entered ICAT (Image College of Arts, Animation & Technology), I asked my dad if he could get me a laptop. His answer was always like I’ll see about that or he just nods his head and that means he’s doubtful… I stayed in an apartment in Kalpagam Avenue in MRC Nagar. There were 6 of us.

There was this guy named Hari Haran. A smart guy :-). When I entered my apartment for the first time I saw his computer and I was like – OOOOO Shit…When am I going to get one like that…..Everyday I dreamt  to own one like that…Every month I reminded my parents to get me a laptop.

Why I never got one in the first place?

Its not that my parents didn’t have money or that they can’t afford to buy a laptop. I have two sisters… and whenever my parents wanted to send me the money my sisters would call my parents to send them some  money for giving their college fees or their hostel fees.

I waited for…… How I got a ……….

I waited for 2 years to get a laptop……. This year 09  in the month of May, I got the opportunity to go to Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. The place I was brought up and studied till grade 12th. I was there for just a week.  Two days left to get back to Chennai and my dad asks me if I wanted to go out with him somewhere.

Well I have 2 days left to be with them so…yeah…why not… Just the two of us…. kept going….. reached Olaya ( a damn rich and luxury place). Stopped in front of computer store……. OK son, go in and choose your laptop….What the ****………Your kiddin’ me right…… Went in and chose the best laptop….. Saw the price and O Shit. No way my dad is gonna get that one……

Walked out of the shop with the very same laptop I chose. It was worth SAR 6,000. In Indian rupees its worth Rs 75,000 to 80,000 with a descent config….

– Intel Core 2 Duo P8600 2.40Ghz
– 400 GB – 4 GB RAM
– 15.4″ TruBrite Dispaly
– NVIDIA® GeForce® 9600M GT with 512 MB dedicated VRAM
– DVD Super Multi Drive
– Vista Home Premium

4196_86530172365_617072365_1768927_2562411_n

4196_86533507365_617072365_1768997_1130969_n

About Ryan Paul Joy P

Game Designer by profession. Enjoys playing games on PC, consoles and board games. Watches a lot of movies and anime in the following genres - horror, thriller, suspense and hates love stories to the core. Enjoys being in beaches the most, my room is my sanctuary and prefers being in less crowded places. A pure non-vegetarian and loves food (still ain't fat for some unknown reasons). Won all fights through words alone and has never used my fists till date. People say I'm a good listener, but what's going through my head while listening is surprisingly a mystery.

Posted on October 22, 2009, in Life Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. lucky you man.. even i’m bugging my dad to get one..

Leave a Reply

