Travel Experience in a train from Kochi to Chennai

I booked a return ticket from Kerala to Chennai on October 10th, 2010. This ticket was on waiting list 15 Class 3A. By January 1st it was RAC 6. RAC means I have a berth available. But two persons have to share the same berth. So basically I have to sit through the whole journey or each of us has to take turns to sleeping.

Well, I guess that’s much better rather than having no seat at all. 3A is air conditioned, comfortable lighting, and good seats. But just imagine when you can see others sleeping with comfy blankets over them, and you have to sit the whole time.

My train was supposed to arrive at 5:30 pm but instead it arrived at 6:15 pm. There was a slight problem thou. I couldn’t find the compartment I was supposed to be in. I mean, when I checked the net it shows RB55. So at first I thought RB meant the name of a compartment. But it meant right berth. The train was about to leave. So I just entered a SL 12 compartment. Within 2 minutes the train started to move.

Once inside I had to walk all the way to SL 1. I was asking people inside if they knew where RB compartment was and all of them said there is no such thing as RB compartment. When I reached SL 3, I passed a coolie (a coolie is a helper who helps passengers with their languages). I asked him for directions, and he said it’s not RB but 3A. RB meant right berth, and it’s after SL 1. Whew! That’s a relief. Thought I would have to walk all the way to the end.

When I opened the door to the 3A compartment, I saw the TT collecting tickets from the passengers. I showed him my ticket, and he said your ticket is RAC. I nodded my head and tried to give him the same expression Puss In Boots gave to Shrek. Hoping at least by seeing my cute face he will give me a whole berth to myself. That didn’t work. He happily showed me my berth and told me this is where you will be sitting, and the other passenger will be joining me soon. Damn!

At the next stop the passenger arrived and sat next to me. Soon we both started to chat. He was working in some IT company fixing PC chips or something like that. A waiter comes and takes our order. I ordered Chapatti and Egg curry. By about 8:30 pm the other guy sharing my berth and I had our dinner. While having our dinner, the TT comes and says there is an extra berth available. So that means I get to have the whole berth for myself. I could sleep. That’s luck.

After dinner, the IT guy chose to shift to his new berth, and I arranged my berth and slept like a log till the next day. Once the train reached Chennai, I felt a bit down that my life is back to the same routine. Have to get up every day at 7:30 am and walk for 5 minutes to the bus stand. Wait for an empty bus. Reach office by 9 am. Back to my room by 8 pm. Have dinner and watch a movie on my laptop at the same time and then to bed. DAMN!

Well, I was glad I celebrated Christmas with my family and for the first time in our new house.

Happy New Year! 🙂

About Ryan Paul Joy P

Game Designer by profession. Enjoys playing games on PC, consoles and board games. Watches a lot of movies and anime in the following genres - horror, thriller, suspense and hates love stories to the core. Enjoys being in beaches the most, my room is my sanctuary and prefers being in less crowded places. A pure non-vegetarian and loves food (still ain't fat for some unknown reasons). Won all fights through words alone and has never used my fists till date. People say I'm a good listener, but what's going through my head while listening is surprisingly a mystery.

Posted on January 7, 2011, in Life Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

